Instigating a "Mental Revolution"

N27bn Halliburton scam IBB, Abdulsalami, Diya, 77 others indicted

Eighty persons, foreigners and Nigerians, the living and the dead, among them four former Heads of State and two of their wives, as well as former Governors and Ministers – indeed the top echelons of the country’s political and military establishments, including technocrats – have been indicted by the United States law enforcement officials over the N27 billion Halliburton bribery scandal.

Among the foreigners are Jack Chagoury, Gilbert Chagoury, and T.W. Oerlemans, an Australian; but they are rather small fish compared with indicted former Nigerian Heads of State Ibrahim Babangida, Sani Abacha, Ernest Shonekan, and Abdulsalami Abubakar

Maryam, the late wife of Babangida; Mariam, the wife of the late Abacha, and his son, the late Ibrahim, are included; likewise Mike Akhigbe, the second in command in the Abdulsalami junta; former Abia State Governor, Orji Kalu; and former military Governors of Rivers State, Anthony Ukpo and Samuel Ewang.

Also among the dead are Abdulkadir Ahmed, former Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor; and renowned economist, Pius Okigbo, who headed the probe panel on the Gulf Crude Oil Excess sales set up by the CBN in 1994.

But among those alive are former Petroleum Minister, Rilwanu Lukman, and newly re-appointed National Security Adviser, Aliyu Gusau. (See full list).

According to the report of the investigators, the 80 persons received part of the N27 billion bribe facilitated by foreign contractors for Halliburton to get the contract to build the Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) plant, Africa’s first, in Bonny, Rivers State.

The scandal dates back to 1994 when some foreign companies put up bids for the construction of the plant that was to cost $6 billion.

To win the contract, a joint venture company, named TSKJ, was set up – comprising equal holdings between some companies, Technip (French), Sanmprogetti (Italian), KBR (U.S.), and part of the Halliburton group and Japanese engineering and construction company, JGC.

The investigators said the consortium bribed political leaders and top government functionaries through Tri-Star Investment Limited and Marubeni Inc.

They also recruited British lawyer, Jeffery Tesler, to co-ordinate the affairs of Tri-Star, as well as Wojciech Chodan, an American, to co-ordinate the affairs of Marubeni.

TSKJ mandated Tri-Star to solely take charge of bribing Nigerian officials at senior level, Marubeni was restricted to bribing junior level officials.

Tesler disclosed in a court deposition that TSKJ mandated both companies to bribe the officials.

As part of the investigation, the Swiss Justice Department followed the steps of the Police Judiciare of France, which in 2003, started an investigation that revealed fraudulent Halliburton payments to Tesler.

In the U.S., KBR and Halliburton have admitted to violating the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) by engaging in a decade-long bribing scheme to secure contracts in Nigeria.

Both agreed to pay a combined fine of $579 million to settle criminal and civil charges brought by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Department of Justice.

 Those Indicted

  1. Ibrahim Babangida

  2. Maryam Babangida

  3. Ernest Shonekan

  4. Abubakar Abdulsalami

  5. M. D. Yusufu

  6. T.W. Oerlemans

  7. Pius Okigbo

  8. Aminu Saleh

  9. Don Etiebet

  10. Aliyu Mohammed Gusau

  11. Edmund Daukoru

  12. Victoria Ihonde

  13. Toyin Olakunrin

  14. Gilbert Temisan Grant

  15. Gabriel Abolade Soyoye

  16. Patrick Dele-Cole

  17. E. Ihetu

  18. Onya (NNPC personnel)

  19. Sani Abacha

  20. Joshua Dogonyaro

  21. John Shagaya

  22. U. J. Itsueli

  23. Ombu Isokariari

  24. G.O. Ejiga

  25. Babagana Kingibe

  26. Hakeem Bello-Osagie

  27. J.O. Maduka

  28. Sena Anthony

  29. Dalhatu A. Bayero

  30. Ogenyi (NNPC official)

  31. I. Dapchi

  32. M.A. Olorunfemi

  33. Wilfred C. Eze

  34. Umar Baba

  35. Orji Kalu

  36. Jeremiah Useni

  37. Abba Gana

  38. Ibrahim Abacha

  39. Oladipo Diya

  40. Chamberlain O. Oyibo

  41. Judith Attah

  42. Abdulkadir Ahmed

  43. Anthony Ani

  44. O.O. Okwara

  45. Philip Asiodu

  46. Endo (Marubeni Nigeria)

  47. Hamman Tukur

  48. S.J. Ollerearnshaw

  49. Dan Etete

  50. B. Soyode

  51. Akin Ogunleye

  52. Tom Ikimi

  53. Gidado Idris

  54. Sola Alabi

  55. Ismaila Gwarzo

  56. Mariam Abacha

  57. Halilu Akilu

  58. Abdullahi Mohammed

  59. Hamza El-Mustapha

  60. Ibrahim Aliyu

  61. Edmund Ayoola

  62. Anthony Ukpo

  63. Samuel Ewang

  64. Ismaila Usman

  65. Tunde Soleye

  66. Christ Akerele

  67. Umaru Shinkafi

  68. Philip Chukwu

  69. Bunu Sherrif Musa

  70. Rilwan Lukman

  71. Aret Adams

  72. Mike Akhigbe

  73. Faruk Iya

  74. Hassan Adamu

  75. Prince Nzekwe

  76. Gen. Adeyosun

  77. Jasper Jumbo

  78. Jack Chagoury

  79. Gilbert Chagoury

  80. Mohammed Atiku

Source:  Daily Independent

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s